Timing very confused!

Tesla

Also very confused!

Hi there

This is my first post on Timers, but after the bet possible option for taking timings in ms, is this possible in a simple way?

Also could someone enlighten me how to start a new thread on this and my apologies for posting in the wrong place if I am.

I have read the site and come across many different way of timing, Timer, settimer, Timer 3, external crystals, ect. .

I have the 28x2 5V modules.

I am not a complete beginner with picaxe as I have has a play around with remote control driving radio modules and everything worked like a dream after a lot of trial and errors.

What I am after is to take timings in ms over a max period of 6 seconds for a project I am working on.

I wish the timings to be consecutive

so example
PIN high. .. ..start timing and toggle pin back
T1=2123ms ' max timing for any timings I will be taking is 6000ms
Pin high again, stop T1, start T2
T2=1343ms
Pin high again, stop T2, start T3
T3=3421ms
Pin high again, Stop T3

Then I wish to do some maths operations on the variables T1,T2,T3

After I wish to generate some pulses of a predetermined length in ms

I believe that this is extremely simple using the pause statement. The length of the pulses would be between 100 to 1200 ms

so if I use for example
PAUSE 1285
then PIN5 high
pause 10
PIN5 Low

I would have a time period of 1.285 seconds, then a pulse for 10ms , am I correct?

If so, then why could the pause statement if so accurate be used as a timer for counting?

you know

do a=a+1
pause 1 ' would this not time 1ms
until pin 5 high ' press pin 5
debug pin5

for example?

I am totally confused as to why its so difficult to make a ms second timer?

any enlightening information would be much appreciated, and I have trawled the site and come across many different options and many different problems.

I know about the Major and Minor ticks, is this the best option?