Best Stepper Motor Commands

mikemwa

I just started on a project and I need a little help. I am pretty new to the picaxe micro controllers and the programming of them.
Basically what I’m doing is using a bipolar stepper motor to turn the handle on a micrometer to certain positions.
I am using a 20m and a MC3479 to drive the stepper motor.
The first question I have is what commands are best for controlling the stepper motor? Below is what I’ve started with. It is something I just saw somewhere else and copied it.
I will have probably 6 push buttons and 6 led’s to come on when you push the buttons for forward fast, forward slow, reverse fast, reverse slow, start and beginning (which will probably be a later question).
Right now the pauses are in there just for testing. Ultimately what I want this thing to do is position the mic with the 4 position switches, hit the start button and the mic will move to a pre determined position, then wait for a signal and move to the next position etc.
Below is just the beginning of the code. I want to know if I’m going in the right direction.

Code:
'symbol revsl = pin0	'reverse motor slow
'symbol revfa = pin1	'reverse motor fast
'symbol forsl = pin2	'forward motor slow
'symbol forfa = pin3	'forward motor fast
'symbol start1 = pin4	'start sequence
'symbol begin = pin5	'move motor to start

'surface = 2			'take surface reading at .002
'minimum = 30		'take reading at minimum spec
'average = 33		'take reading .002 before average
				'then take 5 more readings .001 appart		
'maximum = 50		'take reading at maximum
'beginning = b4		'add upp all moves and move back that far to zero

start:
pause 3000

b2 = 5000		'stepmotor pause
b3 = 5000		'pause between steps

for b1=1 to 50
for b0=1 to 2 
pulsout 1,100:pause 2
next b0
next b1

pause 10000

for b1=1 to 50
for b0=1 to 28 
next b0
next b1

pause 10000

for b1=1 to 50
for b0=1 to 3 
next b0
next b1

pause 10000

for b1=1 to 50
for b0=1 to 1 	
next b0
next b1

pause 10000

for b1=1 to 50