Viewing the Picaxe results on the PC

donrecardo

Hi
I am a newbie to picaxe but am pleased to say I just built a magic switchboard that worked first go , so things must have started making some sense.
I hope that this isnt too silly a question and I guess the answer may be in the manuals somewhere but like most newbies I am eager to see things happen on the picaxe and so rather than read the whole manual, I have up till now only read the bits in the manual I have needed to get the job done .

I dont have a serial LCD and cant get one till later this month ( techsupplies and Rapid are both waiting for new stocks to arrive) so I cant output results from the picaxe so that I can read them , (e.g. from a ds18b20 or real time clock etc).

Is it possible to see whats happening inside the picaxe from within the programming editor using debug or some other such command and if so how do I go about it ?

It would be nice to be able to read the values on ADC inputs , or the temperature on my dS18B20 by sending it from the picaxe back up the usb programming lead.
Is this possible , or do I have to wait till the serial LCD are once again available

Regards
Don

George Sephton

Just add debug to your code, assuming your code loops, everytime debug is sent the values on screen will be update, the PICAXE has to be connected to your computer and it will show all of the values of the variables.

Dippy

Have a look at the Sertxd command in the BASIC Manual.
it gives an example too.

Then run up the terminal in the Programming Editor and bingo! Your values appear on your screen. (Assuming you've connected the cable, switched PICAXE on and got the right baud rate :) )

Blimey, they were In Like Flint!!

donrecardo

Thanks all for the very quick replies

George, does it matter where in the code I put Debug and is it just " debug or is it Debug B0 or Debug B1 etc )

Eclectic
Now I know where to look in the manual I will look at sertxd thanks

Dippy