08M2 + LM317LZ switching an NPN, noob, baffled, stuck.

caitlin

So I've done my best, but I'm very new to this.
Hopefully here's a picture:
circuit.png

When everything is powered from 3 AA batteries the circuit works as I expect. When pin 4 goes high, the transistor shuts off, when pin 4 goes low it switches back on.
I plan to read in a sensor value on a different pin and use that to decide whether to wiggle pin 4 or not, that transistor is hopefully going to poke a relay instead of an LED and thereby allow a bunch of current to flow to a motor.

The problem arises when I have the circuit as in the image, I've metered the output of the LM317LZ and it's almost bang on 5V.
The voltage around pin 4 is silly though and I don't understand enough of this to know why. I seem to be completely failing to isolate my voltages, and I fear I'm trying to sink 12V through pin4 which can only end badly.

Can anyone offer either advice, or a phrase I could web search on to try and understand this better. I'm not really here to ask for a magic fix, but also to try and increase my understanding of how these little wire bits fit together.

oracacle

you output should be between 12v and the transistor and the transistor and 0v.
you will need a back emf diode when you use a relay.
also add some capacitors around the regulator and close between the picaxe power pins

Pongo

The transistor is configured as an emitter follower. The voltage on the emitter will be no higher than the (voltage on the base - 0.7 volts) = max 4.3 volts, leaving 7.7 volts across the transistor. Unless you have a low voltage relay it would be better to ground the emitter, and connect the relay between the collector and the 12 volt rail (common emitter configuration).

I'm not familiar with the 08M2 but doesn't it need a resistor to ground on the serial input pin to function?

AllyCat

Hi,