Newb in need of help trying to control bipolar stepper

Dr Jekyll

Hi Guys

This is my first post so please go easy on me.

I’m new to Picaxe and loving the possibilities, I’m also fairly new to electronics so incorporating them into projects is also new to me - I am a quick learner though. I’ve started working my way through the manuals and tutorials and built the LED flasher with the starter kit. What I ultimately want to do though is control this bipolar stepper:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Longer-Micro-Stepper-Motor-with-Screw-and-Fitting-for-Linear-Motion/281927848834?hash=item41a4359382:m:me_kYm54UGKI0hSrnnS4pEw

I’m looking for a bit of help and guidance in understanding the code. I’ve also just purchased the PICAXE-08 Motor Driver Board and am hoping it’s going to be suitable to control this stepper.

http://www.picaxestore.com/index.php/en_gb/picaxe/project-boards/axe023.html

I want to be able to move the stepper in one direction, pause 5 seconds and then move it back to the original position. Looking at the sample code in manual 3, I just don’t understand the structure and variable stuff and then it all gets a bit ‘binary’ and I’m completely lost! Can anyone start me off with something a bit more simple?

In addition to the above, I was also wondering if anyone has experience of triggering Picaxe chips using an RF remote like the one below?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/315Mhz-Wireless-Remote-Control-RF-DC-5V-Transmitter-Receiver-Module-for-Arduino/231418644091?hash=item35e1a0467b:g:7QkAAOSw7ThUiWty

To put it in context, the stepper is being used in an animatronic project, which will be activated by a momentary press of a keyfob remote. I’ve used these little receivers before and when you press a button on the remote the corresponding pin goes high for the length of time you keep it pressed – can I use this to trigger the chip to do it’s thing and control the stepper?

Hope that’s enough info, any help greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

goom