​ ​ ​ ​ Software for on screen visualisation of virtual input/output environment
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Software for on screen visualisation of virtual input/output environment

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    36

    Default Software for on screen visualisation of virtual input/output environment

    Hi,

    I joined the PicAxe Forum Community and receiving help with the circuitry elsewhere.

    I have programmed in basic about 1980, it is helping now to catchup with PicAxe.
    Virtually Nothing but ZX80 was available to me in 1980.

    So what is available in Software to Simulate running code and visual outputs for PICAXE-28X2?

    I downloaded:
    PICAXE Editor 6
    PICAXE VSM
    Blockly for PICAXE

    The PicAxe Editor runs my code.
    Not asking for solution, just as an example:
    I notice the lines with output high and pauses run slower then other code lines.
    Then there is an unexpected glitch in the code lines before returning normal.
    Not interested in the issue of a code error, I would just like to visualize the outputs.

    I do not like Blocky because it is asking me to use different format then you would writing basic code.
    For me, I would like to use the normal basic code.

    Just out of curiosity, does Blocky reconstruct to basic with efficiency intelligence, or just simple rules?

    It is not clear to me what PICAXE VSM does, I would like a plug and play option!
    To this end, are there plain Picaxe 28x2 Circuit Templates or something to load into PICAXE VSM?

    I do not have internet for the PicAxe Software.

    Are there any other WYSIWYG Simulation Software available?
    Something that can offer more efficiency for my input.

    Thanks,
    Gary
    Last edited by Gazza_AU; 09-04-2017 at 22:42.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    36

    Default

    Bump/

    It would be good if the outputs of Picaxe IC in Editor Glowed Green when high in simulation.
    So you could run the code at high speed and see the physical outputs.

    Has nobody already done this?

  3. #3
    Technical Support
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    Bath,UK
    Posts
    6,360
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    We do not understand your point - the simulation panel outputs do already highlight during simulation?
    PICAXE Technical Support

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    36

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Technical View Post
    We do not understand your point - the simulation panel outputs do already highlight during simulation?
    Are you talking about using the editor, I must be doing something wrong?
    I was looking, expecting the feature had to be included.
    I Don't know

    VSM trial is about to be uninstalled, it keeps going through the waiting period during operation.
    With no templates to see Picaxe 28x2 simulation I will not bother to purchase.
    It is very annoying when trial software wastes your time.

    Another pet hate is no user manuals, given offline status of work PC.

    I do like the Picaxe chips
    Last edited by Gazza_AU; 10-04-2017 at 03:50.

  5. #5
    Technical Support
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    Bath,UK
    Posts
    6,360
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default

    PE6 includes user manuals, see the File>Help menu. The included manual 1 has a section called 'BASIC simulation' which should help you.
    PICAXE Technical Support

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    36

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Technical View Post
    PE6 includes user manuals, see the File>Help menu. The included manual 1 has a section called 'BASIC simulation' which should help you.
    The manual thing was just a shot at software without them.
    I will sort out this thing with on screen display of output states.

    I see people share code in a box on the forum, how do I make the post box to insert code?

  7. #7
    Technical Support
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    23,147

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Gazza_AU View Post
    I see people share code in a box on the forum, how do I make the post box to insert code?
    Include your program code within [code]...[/code] tags.

  8. #8
    Technical Support
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    23,147

    Default

    If you load the following program into PE6 ...

    Code:
    #Picaxe 08M2
    Do
      Toggle C.2
      Pause 1000
    Loop
    Simulate that within PE6, and you should see the Simulation panel highlight the C.2 pin as that pin is set high. That panel is normally at the lower left of PE6 -

    SIM08M2.jpg

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    36

    Default

    I used the program again, it turns out the outputs were blinking and my eyesight was not able to see it.
    I also chose the wrong Picaxe format, but all good now.

    PICAXE 28x2
    You know those IC Project Boards that have large copper pads around the IC for each pin.?
    And use the actual Outputs on each pad, A.0 to C7.?

    Cheers,
    Gary
    Last edited by Gazza_AU; 10-04-2017 at 18:12.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •