WRITE Command on 18M2+ - ??

dgc188

Hi all,

Forgive me but I'm a bit of a newbie to this (a bit of a numpty as well with this command).

I've read through the manuals and can find no real definitive answer relative to the 18M2+ specific chip.

In some of the chips I see that the NVM/EEPROM locations are shared with the program itself (it states "not 18M2+"). This is where I'm baffled.

I'm trying to save a variable to NVM so that it is saved during a power off/restart.

If my program is, say, 1900 bytes in length, how do I save - and where is - the variable.

The command pages say:
write b0,b1 ; save value of b1 into location b0

In the PICAXE Editor, Memory popout, I can see locations b0 up to b27 then it shows location (RAM address) 28 through to 511. Theoretically, how do I (or even can I) address/write to locations above b27 and, more specifically, what overlap is there between the program data stored and the available memory locations used in the WRITE command on this chip?

Another comment I read along the way is that there is a finite number of writes the PICAXE chips can use the WRITE command. What limit is there on the 18M2+ chip? Again, I read some ambiguity on this; maybe there's a limit on the older chips but not on the newer versions such as this?

Thanks for reading and I hope I can get some clarity into this befuddled mind of mine. ;)

westaust55

With the exception of the 08M2, it is primarily only the older PICAXE chips where the program and EEPROM memory space is shared.

The PICAXE chips have three or four (depending on specific chips) separate memory areas:
1. Program memory

2. EEPROM – non volatile and with a minimum of around 0.1 million writes (found in the corresponding Microchip PIC datasheets)