​ ​ ​ ​ Inline Image Size
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Inline Image Size

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Stockport, UK. On a good day, Cornwall UK
    Posts
    266

    Default Inline Image Size

    Trying to find the proper way of displaying a large inline image


    Attachment 21072
    Last edited by PhilHornby; 20-03-2017 at 01:00. Reason: why not

  2. #2
    Technical Support
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    23,225

    Default

    Without going to check there should be an 'include inline' option on the Upload File Manager.

    But large inline images aren't usually appreciated; they can be slow to download and add undesired data transfer for those viewing pages on mobile phones or without broadband, as well as potentially messing up the page display in browsers.

    The attachment mechanism gives the reader the opportunity to choose what images they wish to see.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Don't Mess With My Texas!
    Posts
    2,083

    Lightbulb

    This is what I get when I click the "Attachment 21072" link:

    Invalid Attachment specified. If you followed a valid link, please notify the administrator
    IMHO, I'd rather not wait for "your" photos to load on my slow connection. I'd rather only see words or a thumbnail. I don't have control of that, though, just an opinion.
    - Tex
    __________________________________________________ _______________________
    "Truth lies dormant in our future history." ― Tex Clodhopper LXV
    “Confidence is ignorance. If you're feeling cocky, it's because there's something you don't know.” ― Eoin Colfer, Artemis Fowl

  4. #4
    Technical Support
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    23,225

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hippy View Post
    Without going to check there should be an 'include inline' option on the Upload File Manager.
    Actually; upload an image. Tick the box in the lower right corner of the image if not automatically set, click on "Insert Inline (1)" then "Done".

    INLINE.jpg

    That you have an inline attachment link suggests that it half worked for you. Not sure what went wrong there.

    Added: It seems an inline attachment is a thumbnail. If you want something bigger I think you may have to include it as an "[IMG]" with a URL to where the image is.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Stockport, UK. On a good day, Cornwall UK
    Posts
    266

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Texasclodhopper View Post
    This is what I get when I click the "Attachment 21072" link:
    Odd that loads for me - though I didn't mean to leave it in the message.

    Can you see the main image?

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Stockport, UK. On a good day, Cornwall UK
    Posts
    266

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hippy View Post
    Added: It seems an inline attachment is a thumbnail. If you want something bigger I think you may have to include it as an "[IMG]" with a URL to where the image is.
    At some point in the past, it invited me to choose the size of an inline image - I just can't find the option now?!?

  7. #7
    Technical Support
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    23,225

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PhilHornby View Post
    Can you see the main image?
    Not sure where that would/should be. All I see in your opening post is -

    Trying to find the proper way of displaying a large inline image

    Attachment 21072
    And clicking on that Attachment link takes me to an "Invalid link" page.

    Quote Originally Posted by PhilHornby View Post
    At some point in the past, it invited me to choose the size of an inline image - I just can't find the option now?!?
    I don't personally recall that, but sizing is usually deceptive; only sets what size an image will be shown, doesn't prevent a huge image from having to be downloaded.

  8. #8
    Technical Support
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    23,225

    Default

    Just a test ...



    [img]http://www.picaxe.com/Custom/Themes/Picaxe/Images/logo.png[/img]

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Stockport, UK. On a good day, Cornwall UK
    Posts
    266

    Default test

    Thumbnail from "upload" and "Display Inline".
    Forum software uses [ATTACH=CONFIG]21078[/ATTACH]

    Adding link obtained from thumbnail image displayed in "Preview Post" :-

    aka http://www.picaxeforum.co.uk/attachment.php?attachmentid=21078&d=1490014083 :-
    http://www.picaxeforum.co.uk/attachm...8&d=1490014083

    wrapping [img] http://www.picaxeforum.co.uk/attachment.php?attachmentid=21078&d=1490014083 [/noimg] tags around it:-


    But that just displays full-size (at least for me!) ... can't seem to find a happy medium...

    This doesn't seem work in the way the documentation suggests either - i.e. link to external image:
    (I used: [IMG]http://Phil.Hornby.me.uk/images/speedo.JPG[/IMG])

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Stockport, UK. On a good day, Cornwall UK
    Posts
    266

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hippy View Post
    Not sure where that would/should be. All I see in your opening post is ...
    Interesting - I assume that's because the attachment doesn't belong to that post - yet it does display for me - maybe because it belongs to one of my other posts?
    WYSINWOPS ;-) What You See Is Not What Other People See !

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •