​ ​ ​ ​ stupid action from me.;-)
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: stupid action from me.;-)

  1. #1
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Westdorpe NL
    Posts
    3

    Default stupid action from me.;-)

    hello,

    I restart using PICAXE after a few years of not using it and to get familiar with it again i wrote a small program to light the LED, buzz the buzzer and check the serial communcation.
    I did this on a PICAXE08M2 and i "broke it" because the old 08M you had to put a jumper for communicating OR loading a program.

    So i programmed a line SERTXD "some text", load the program and then i couldn't access the chip again for reprogramming.

    Is it reparairable? Or is its destiny to garbagebin ??

    Please explain ;-)

    greets Hans
    Last edited by westaust55; 18-02-2017 at 00:20. Reason: Some tidy up

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Montpellier (FRANCE)
    Posts
    2,696

    Default

    You need to follow thé hard reset procédure
    Last edited by westaust55; 18-02-2017 at 00:21. Reason: Reste ==> reset
    There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    711

    Default

    I have to press program then power the chip for some reason sometimes. Dunno why.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Posts
    2,608

    Default

    "Hard restart": power picaxe off, start the program download, power picaxe on.

    It's very unlikely that you can program a picaxe so as to kill it (without there being other hardware involved).

    You can program it so that it won't recognize a program download without the "hard restart".

  5. #5
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Westdorpe NL
    Posts
    3

    Default

    thanks for the help,

    i have to do the dishes with mum first and the groceries and i can experiment ;-)

    Hans

  6. #6
    New Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Westdorpe NL
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I could not wait ;-) Indeed; if clear the chip (or reload the program) it accesable afterwards.
    Thanks again.

    So this post can closed!

    greets and a nice weekend
    Hans

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    London
    Posts
    2,653

    Default

    Hi Hans,

    Quote Originally Posted by zebedeus1957 View Post
    i wrote a small program to light the LED, buzz the buzzerand check the serial communcation.
    Did you use a SERRXD command? That automatically generates a DISCONNECT which prevents future programming without using the Hard Reset procedure described above.

    To avoid this you can put a timeout in the SERRXD command or receive a particular character/code and jump to a RECONNECT command.

    Cheers, Alan.

  8. #8
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Western Australia
    Posts
    12,206

    Default

    It may be that the program is in a very tight loop that does not provide sufficient opportunity for the PICACe to detect the SerialIn pin going high to indicate a new program is to be downloaded.
    Using the DISCONNECT command will also prevent detecting a new program download.

    As already mentioned, use of the Hard Reset method will overcome these situations.
    With power to the PiCACE chip off, start the download of the new program and once the PC screen indicates the download is commencing then turn the power on for the PICAXE.

    The PICAXE chips are quite robust. However if you overload a pin by having a current greater than 25 mA then damage can occur. If that were to happen on the Serial out pin then the PICAXE cannot respond to the Programming editor as a program download takes place and a fault will be indicated. But try the Hard Reset procedure several times first.

    You could even post your code here and folks may highlight what is blocking a new download.
    westaust55

    Hey Hamlet, 2B OR NOT 2B = $FF

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •