Advice on Mosfets

TYKE

I'm a complete novice when it comes to MOSFET's so I could use some advice about switching some led's with a picaxe 8m2. The power comes from a solar powered 12v battery and each group of leds uses around 20ma. Could I use a suitable Mosfet to directly switch the power or do they have to be used to switch on a relay, I don't envision the total power passing through one to be greater than 400ma.

Thanks

AllyCat

Hi,

Assuming you're running the PICaxe from a 5 volt regulator then almost any "Logic Level" FET will do. But below about 4 volts, rather more care may be needed. The 2N7000 is a simple, general purpose, low-cost FET, perhaps not quite good enough for a full 400 mA alone, but you could put a few in parallel. Others may have their own particular "favourites".

In practice a bipolar (NPN) transistor or a relay can do much the same job. They may appear less efficient (requiring an additional current into the base or coil) but the main loss of useful energy is in the LEDs' (essential) series resistor. For best efficiency you could use a switched-mode constant-current driver, but that's a considerable complication. Also, you may prefer that when/if the 12v battery voltage falls, the LEDs get dimmer (extending the remaining life) as happens with a simple resistor.

Cheers, Alan.

inglewoodpete

Hi,

Assuming you're running the PICaxe from a 5 volt regulator then almost any "Logic Level" FET will do. But below about 4 volts, rather more care may be needed. The 2N7000 is a simple, general purpose, low-cost FET, perhaps not quite good enough for a full 400 mA alone, but you could put a few in parallel. Others may have their own particular "favourites".

In practice a bipolar (NPN) transistor or a relay can do much the same job.