​ ​ ​ ​ Help please programming surface mounted picaxe chips
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Help please programming surface mounted picaxe chips

Default Help please programming surface mounted picaxe chips

Hi

Thanks for looking. I am wondering how to go about programming surface mounted chps. I am making a PCB and Id like it to be as small as possible. I may make many of these PCBs and will be using the surface mounted 14M2 and surface mounted 18M2. Im not sure how to go about programming these very small chips as I don't want to have any components on the board which may affect the end size. eg resistors, pins, etc used to program the chips.

Is there a way to pre-program the chips before mounting them onto the PCBs. ie is there a commercial chip programmer for this size of chip available. Or can someone explain a method of programming these small chips. I have only ever used the large r size chips in the past and so I am new to the surface mouthed world.

Thank you.

Dear @JPU,

What I have done in the past, is I have had test pads routed for SerIn, SerOut and, of course, GND. Then you can design another PCB with all the extra components you want and 'pongo pins' to match the test pads. Some guide pins through mounting holes or something similar would probably be a good idea. Now you only have to position your board on top of the test/programming board, press on it lightly and press F5 on your computer.

This would not take too much time, if producing low volume products and would actually be part of the deal anyway if some further semi-automated testing procedure of the functions of the board would be required.