Erratic Touch sensors on 08m2+

Joel Grant

Hi Guys,
I am new to this so please try to be simple when explaining.
I have a 08m2+ and have been trying for days to calibrate 2 touch sensors. I am using the flow chart at this point. I just can not seem to get it to be consistent by any means. reading the forums it sounds as if touch sensors can be programed to self calibrate. Is this possible with the flow chart? And is there any basic code samples to try?
Joel

rq3

Hi Guys,
I am new to this so please try to be simple when explaining.
I have a 08m2+ and have been trying for days to calibrate 2 touch sensors. I am using the flow chart at this point. I just can not seem to get it to be consistent by any means. reading the forums it sounds as if touch sensors can be programed to self calibrate. Is this possible with the flow chart? And is there any basic code samples to try?
Joel
Joel, I've never tried the flowchart approach, but I have successfully used the touch capability. And they are "touchy". I suspect that the flowchart will not give you access to the "lower level" control of the touch switches that regular programming might do.

At the most simple level, self calibration assumes that none of the switches are touched when the picaxe powers up. It reads and stores the touch value at power up, and then polls and compares that value during a "touch" to get a valid reading.

There are variables in the touch command (see the manual) that can allow you to get enough of a difference between "touch" and "no-touch" so that the Picaxe can determine whether to "re-set" the un-touched condition every few seconds or so.

Be very careful of overflow in the touch result. It's possible (in fact likely) that touching a switch will cause it to "roll over". For example, you may have the touch switch set to react to 200 as a valid touch. If conditions change (and they will) a valid touch may result in a value of 257, which rolls over to a value of 2 (untouched).