Adxj345

kfjl

AdxL345

I'm probably staring at something I can't see.
Here's my program and its debug output.
When I move the ADXL345 the only value that changes is b3 (from 163 to 164). I was expecting all the values to change.
I've tried 1k, 4.7k, 10k and no pull-up resistances with the same result
.I'm running the picaxe and ADXL345 off two LR14 batteries (3V).
Any idea what I'm missing?

Code:
#PICAXE08M2
#no_data

HI2CSETUP I2CMASTER, 0xA6, i2cslow, i2cbyte
pause 500
HI2COUT 0x31,(0x01) 'Put the ADXL345 into +/- 4G range
pause 500
HI2COUT 0x2D,(0x08) 'Put the ADXL345 into Measurement Mode 
pause 500

main:

HI2CIN 0x32,(b1,b2,b3,b4,b5,b6) 

debug

goto main

;The SDO pin is connected to ground, CS pin is connected to VCC

;SCL is connected to pin C.1, SDA is connected to pin c.2, both are pulled high by 4.7k resistors
Sélection_002.png

Last edited:

inglewoodpete

Firstly, I have only used the ADXL335 - not the ADXL345. Your code looks OK to me (but I have no experience with the i2c version). The data showing in the Debug screen looks reasonable too - the PICAXE seems to be communicating with the ADXL345 correctly.

My only question is: when you move the accelerometer chip, are you just moving it or are you turning it over (Eg 90 degrees). From my experience with the ADXL335, the value you read will normally halve or double as you tilt the chip by 90 degrees. This is because of the effect of gravity on the accelerometer element.

PieM

I'm probably staring at something I can't see.
ADXL345 data sheet:

There are no internal pull-up or pull-down resistors for any
unused pins; therefore, there is no known state or default state
for the CS or ALT ADDRESS pin if left floating or unconnected.
It is required that the CS pin be connected to V DD I/O and that
the ALT ADDRESS pin be connected to either V DD I/O or GND
when using I 2 C.

and with HI2CIN 0x32,(b2,b3,b4,b5,b6,b7)

Xaxis = w1
Yaxis = w2
Zaxis = w3

Last edited:

inglewoodpete

ADXL345 data sheet: