Did I miss understand bptr

oracacle

While working on my timer project I found my self looking towards the bptr command. when I read the manual I thought that is was another way to access the variable, I found myself very confused @ 4am. the project will need to display it output ontp a parallel connected OLED. I could have gone serial but I had most of a 20x2 left spare. after trimming back the code for the firm ware and starting to add the timer code for a display test I found that I kept getting garbage displayed on the OLED, confused I started playing around with things and found that the pbtr does not correlate to the variable (pbtr 20 is not b20).

Code:
[color=Black]main:
      [/color][color=Blue]let [/color][color=Purple]w2 [/color][color=DarkCyan]= [/color][color=Navy]12345

[/color][color=Blue]bintoascii [/color][color=Purple]w2[/color][color=Black], [/color][color=Purple]n5[/color][color=Black],[/color][color=Purple]n4[/color][color=Black],[/color][color=Purple]n3[/color][color=Black],[/color][color=Purple]n2[/color][color=Black],[/color][color=Purple]n1
      [/color][color=Blue]gosub [/color][color=Black]msg

[/color][color=Blue]end[/color]
[color=Black]msg:
      [/color][color=Green];let b29 = b28 & %00001111 * line_length
                                    ; EEPROM start address is 0 to 15 multiplied by 16
      ;let b30 = b29 + line_length - 1 ; end address is start address + (line_length - 1)

;let n5 = "1"
      [/color][color=Purple]bptr [/color][color=DarkCyan]= [/color][color=Navy]20
      [/color][color=Blue]poke [/color][color=Purple]@bptrinc[/color][color=Black], [/color][color=Purple]n5
      [/color][color=Green];let n4 = "2"
      [/color][color=Blue]poke [/color][color=Purple]@bptrinc[/color][color=Black], [/color][color=Purple]n4
      [/color][color=Green];let n3 = "3"
      [/color][color=Blue]poke [/color][color=Purple]@bptrinc[/color][color=Black], [/color][color=Purple]n3
      [/color][color=Green];let n2 = "4"