Very Basic Step Controller

novolts

Hi Guys

Below is a very basic program which suits my needs

On the site where I work there are 8 boilers

Some of the boilers lock out because they all try to fire up at the same time

So I am putting a time delay in between the boilers firing up to prevent boilers locking out

I am a qualified electrician so I know what precautions and I need to take

Using basic commands is it possible to condense the program code
Code:
main:
if pinC.2 = 1 then gosub Heaton
goto main ; else loop back to start 

Heaton:
high C.1   ;Boiler Number 1 on

pause 5000 ;wait 5 seconds

high C.0   ;Boiler Number 2 on

high C.7   ;Boiler Number 3 on

high C.6   ;Boiler Number 4 on

high B.7   ;Boiler number 5 on

high B.6   ;Boiler number 6 on

high B.5   ;Boiler number 7 on

high B.4   ;Boiler number 8 on

pause 1000

low C.2

end
thanks for reading the post
novolts

Last edited by a moderator:

sghioto

You could use a "gosub delay" after "high C.1" and each time an output goes high. Still have the same number of lines of code though. Question, why are you changing input pin C.2 to an output with the line "low C.2" at the end of the program and how does the program no when to recycle after all 8 burners are on? There is no "return " command. Just asking.:confused: Also requires the "endif" command after "gosub Heaton"

Code:
[COLOR=#000000]main:[/COLOR]
[COLOR=#000000]if pinC.2 = 1 then 
gosub Heaton
[/COLOR]endif
[COLOR=#000000]goto main ; else loop back to start 

[/COLOR]Heaton:
high C.1
gosub delay
etc,
etc,
high B.4
pause 1000
low C.2
end

delay: pause 5000
       return

Steve G

Last edited:

techElder

I've been in lots of industrial businesses on repair jobs. I would hate to run across this gadget of yours. Personally, I would have disconnected it.

What you need is 8 or 10 industrial time delay relays set to different delay settings.

Your program needs lockouts and places to interrupt the sequence.