"Chum Dispenser" solution with picaxe - advice needed by noob

satrapus

Hi folks.

First of all let me point out that I have no experience with picaxe, some very basic electronics knowledge and a background in software engineering.

I would very much appreciate if someone could answer my questions posed below.

The system is powered by a 12V car battery.
Inputs are (Main 3 position switch, timer and ir sensor)
Outputs are (Piezo alarm, dc motor and ir led)
The timer knob controls the interval at which chum is dispensed overboard (1 to 60 seconds).
The side of the control box has a motion sensor that registers when a piece of chum is chucked overboard.
Once triggered, the timer is reset.
If the sensor doesn't register anything in 60 seconds it sounds of an audio alarm (piezo buzzer) that indicates the chum tray is empty.
A 12v 35rpm dc motor contained within the control box draws 0.2 - 0.8 A.

Questions:
My main concern is the fact that I'm using a 12v power supply and that all of my 3 outputs also run off 12v (piezo, motor and motion sensor).
Would I need to use relays to control these 12v driven devices with the 18M2?

I am considering the PICAXE-18M2 as a candidate for the job. This should make a much simpler, more reliable and elegant solution to the old school one show in the video (you can't see the internals but there is no micro controller, just a whole bunch of 555s etc). Is this chip the right choice given my inputs and outputs?

Thanks in advance for any advice or suggestions.

Last edited:

hippy

Technical Support
Staff member
Welcome to the PICAXE forum.

I would expect the PICAXE-18M2 to be up to the task. I would recommend Programming Editor 6 and my preference would be to program in PICAXE Basic rather than flowcharts given your background in software engineering.

geoff07