Seatalk - serial, related to parity

PeteV

Hi,

I'm relatively new to Picaxe and embedded stuff in general. I've completed one successful project (basic button, LED, buzzer, transistor type of thing) and now have a second in mind. This will need to communicate (both send and receive) on a Seatalk bus on a boat. Slightly to my surprise, nobody seems to have done this with a Picaxe before (or if they did, they didn't tell Google).

The Seatalk protocol is described here: http://www.thomasknauf.de/rap/seatalk1.htm . There are circuits out there for interfacing with a PIC, so I can deal with the 12v signalling level etc, but I believe the "command bit" presents a problem. This sits in the place where a parity bit would normally be, but needs to be read and written under software control in order to work with the protocol. A bit of searching this forum suggests that the Picaxe can't do this directly, but there might be ways - which I don't really understand!

I have an 08M2 handy, but could order a different part if it makes a difference.

Any pointers on this would be very much appreciated.

Thanks,

Pete

PeteV

Hmm, actually I think I'm starting to get this...

So first off I sfrpoke into RCSTA and TXSTA, in both cases setting bit 6 which says "do 9-bit mode". I can crib that from http://www.picaxeforum.co.uk/showthread.php?14516-SPI-Question&p=124882&viewfull=1#post124882 - wouldn't have occurred to me to read and write back the whole byte there, I'd have been trying to figure out how to set just the one bit, so that's saved a lot of head scratching :)

Then I do hsersetup to set the baud rate - presumably for the MHz stuff there I just put the speed I'm running the chip at. Also not quite sure how the setting of the mode bits works - many examples only seem to use two or three, which end is getting left out?

Then I "just" do hserin and hserout as normal, separately treating RX9D and TX9D as the "command bit".

I think this might be doable :)

Pete

geoff07