Comparing input values

nyhoyn

Hi!
I'm working with a microcontroller PICAXE 20M2 for controlling a lathe tool turret and now I would need some advice on what would be a simple way of programming "comparation" of signal values between toolnumber reguest from a CNC controller and feedback values from the lathe tool turret.

The sequence is like this.

1. Microcontroller recieves toolchange request from CNC
2. Microcontroller recieves toolnumber from PLC (three outputs from the CNC I/O board to three inputs on microcontroller board)
3. Microcontroller should compare PLC output values with current position of tool turret and if different then start rotating toolturret until tool turret position value is equal with PLC output.
4. Microcontroller outputs signal "toolchange done" and CNC-controller continues with next program line.

The toolturret has a Gray type 4-bit encoder giving four inputs to the microcontroller.
enclosed table with the signall information.

Im new at programmning microcontrollers so have some patience with these questions

Attachments

geoff07

Welcome aboard!

You have a few sub-systems to deal with:

signal conditioning: so that the inputs are compatible with and safe for the Picaxe to access. If the signals are 24v they would fry the chip unless managed. Personally, I use opto-isolators for this as they are cheap and very effective, and don't introduce extra energy (as e.g. simply using a voltage divider would). The chips use micropower so keeping extraneous energy out is essential.

initiation: you will need to detect when something (anything) is happening and so begin the process. This could be an interrupt or simply scanning a signal or signals that determine action is needed

decoding: something that, once initiated, reads the inputs and gets the signals into a form that the program can use. So if three digital lines define an input value, decode them into a single number that the program can read.