Picaxe 18M2 project board infra red

Thv

Hi Im a beginner to Picaxe and I have a Picaxe 18M2 (Chi030) kit and I want to connect an Infra red sensor as an input and have a servo motor as the output but im not sure which pins to connect onto the board and if I can take out components and put new ones in could someone please help me.

inglewoodpete

Welcome to the PICAXE forum.

If you want to use the CHI030 board with an IR sensor as an input device, you will need to remove the pull-down resistor on your selected PICAXE input. This is because the IR receiver (sensor) device has an open-collector output, requiring you to add a PULL-UP resistor to allow it to work.

Refer to the irin command description in Manual 2 (BASIC Commands Manual). If you were to use Rev-Ed's code example, you will see that pin C.3 (PICAXE input pin) is not available on the 18M2. If you select pin C.2, then remove R5 for the CHI030 board and add a 4.7k pull-up from the PICAXE input-end pad of R5, with the other end going to a +5v pad on the board. (Unfortunately, the data sheet is a bit scant on details of the board and I don't have a sample to describe.)

Peter

Thv

Welcome to the PICAXE forum.

If you want to use the CHI030 board with an IR sensor as an input device, you will need to remove the pull-down resistor on your selected PICAXE input. This is because the IR receiver (sensor) device has an open-collector output, requiring you to add a PULL-UP resistor to allow it to work.

Refer to the irin command description in Manual 2 (BASIC Commands Manual). If you were to use Rev-Ed's code example, you will see that pin C.3 (PICAXE input pin) is not available on the 18M2. If you select pin C.2, then remove R5 for the CHI030 board and add a 4.7k pull-up from the PICAXE input-end pad of R5, with the other end going to a +5v pad on the board. (Unfortunately, the data sheet is a bit scant on details of the board and I don't have a sample to describe.)

Peter