Using comma separated variables(CSV) to send data from picaxe to a spreedsheet

Hi,
Does anyone know how to use a Picaxe chip to send data ( ie Temp, Light level etc..) direct to a spreed-sheet for analysis ? I think that the serout command could be used but I'm not sure. I'm a school teacher in the UK ( technology /systems and control ) and am trying to introduce "do it yourself " data logging to science year 12 students , most of who do not have any electronics/ programming skills.
Any info would be much appreciated !!!

Thanks
Tony

Hi Tony,

I use a program that has been mentioned on this forum before, PLX-DAQ from Parallax Inc - http://classic.parallax.com/downloads/plx-daq.

I have used this program on many occasions, sending measured data to EXCEL using the serout command. You can also arrange for the PICAXE to send the formulae for adjacent cells where additional calculations need to be made.

Richard

Hi,
Does anyone know how to use a Picaxe chip to send data ( ie Temp, Light level etc..) direct to a spreed-sheet for analysis ? I think that the serout command could be used but I'm not sure. I'm a school teacher in the UK ( technology /systems and control ) and am trying to introduce "do it yourself " data logging to science year 12 students , most of who do not have any electronics/ programming skills.
Any info would be much appreciated !!!

Thanks
Tony

Skiwi

sertxd(#b2,",",#b3,", ",#b1,",",cf,lf)

this outputs the values of b2, b3 and b4 to the serial port and can be viewed on the programming editor by pressing F8 to open the terminal .
cr,lf is the line feed, put this at the end of the sertxd line so the data lines up in the appropriate columns.

To get the data to a file, connect the picaxe TX data line to a serial in port on a pc (pin3 on a DB9 serial cable and pin 1 common). Run a terminal program such as terraterm and set it to log the data.
when finished, stop the data log in the terminal program and save the file.
Open Excel.