parallel tasking

rob53

Hi guys, let me start by saying that I am very new to micro-controllers and programming. I have no formal training whatsoever. I have literally just started playing around with picaxe a few weeks ago. I got into it to see if I could build a circuit to control certain lighting effects on a model that I am building. The model is a 1/350 scale version of the USS Enterprise as seen in Star Trek The Motion picture. The lighting effects I'm working on are for the deflector dish and photon torpedos.

I'm using two momentary switches (on pins C.0 and C.1), one blue/yellow bi-colored LED (yellow on pwm C.2, blue on pwm C.3.) two red/white bi-colored LEDs (left red on pwm C.5, right red on pwm B.1)

By using pulse width modulation, the deflector dish will ramp up in yellow at the first button push, then at the second button push, the yellow LED fades off and the blue LED ramps up, then at the third button push the blue LED fades off.

The photon torpedo simulation alternates left and right, push the button once and the left red LED ramps up, then a quick 50ms burst from the white LED, then the red LED fades off, push the button again, the sequence repeats on the right red/white bi-LED.

As I have NO programming skills of my own, I have basically been operating from deductive reasoning using snippets of code I have found here and there, both in the picaxe manuals and various forums and tutorials. I am using the picaxe 20M2. The code I have managed to cobble together works just fine except for one thing, if I try to fire a photon torpedo while the deflector dish is in the process of ramping up or fading off, the LED will not respond to my switch until the PWM for the deflector dish has ceased, OR the deflector dish LED will not respond while a torpedo is being fired.