Pinewood Derby Stopwatch/Timer

AlbertZ

First a word of introduction because I am new to this forum. I am a 72 year old retired mechanical engineer. During the spring, summer and fall my passions are fishing and giant scale radio control airplanes. During the winter I revert back to my interest in electronics. I earned my FCC license before I earned my driver’s license. I have successfully built the following Picaxe projects: servo tester, simple robot, towers of Hanoi, LED cube. The programming was a result of cut and paste then hacking until I got the things to work. Therefore let it be known at the outset that I am not a programing whiz.

This winter I would like to build a stopwatch/timer accurate to 0.01 seconds. The inspiration came from involvement in my grandson’s cub scout Pinewood Derby event. Simply described, a group of wooden cars are released, roll down a ramp then on to a straightaway with a finish line at the end.

The attached block diagram illustrates where my thought process lies at this point in time. The oscillator section derives a series of 100 Hz pulses, thus 10 pulses = 0.1 sec, 15 pulses = 0.15 sec, 615 pulses = 6.15 seconds, etc.These pulses would be delivered to a microprocessor which would serialize the information and deliver it to a multiplexed LED display driver. The start of the timing sequence would be initiated by a limit switch at the starting gate. The end of the timing sequence would be determined when the car interrupts a photocell. Reset would be a simple push button.

I would appreciate any and all thoughts on the subject and any suggestions for changes at this stage of the game will be welcome.

Attachments

eclectic

Welcome to the Forum.

I've moved your post to the
Active Forum area.

May I suggest a quick look at the
Advanced Search facility
(Upper right on this page).

There is plenty of information and expertise available.

e addit.

Flowchart as jpg

Attachments

Rick100