Advice needed: Water Treatment Monitoring Project

jsmanson

Hi gang! I am a beginner experimenter with the picaxe system. I am doing some conceptual design to build a controller/monitor, preferably using either picaxes, or possibly also using a data acquisition device I bought a while back (DLP deisgns I/O20 usb data acquisition module) for a small water treatment system for my rural property serviced by a couple of low yield brackish water wells. I will get to my question in due course, but I thought I would outline the project first:

The water treatment system comprises of two low volume DC submersible pumps (variable speed 12-30 volt) with well water level transducers (4-20ma output), which pump into a 'small' tank, which is then re-pumped through a water softener, and optionally (depending on salinity readings of the raw water) through a reverse osmosis unit, into a larger 'processed water' tank which stores the processed water, which is pumped again on demand to the house. So I have two well pumps, two centrifugal pumps to pull water from the tanks, and the RO unit has it's own pump. All of this located in a secure shed behind the house with power.

I have the system up an running now using float switches in the tanks to tell the well pumps and the centrifugal pumps and the RO unit when to turn on (I currently manually switch between each well depending on water levels in the wells). The RO unit also has a nice little 'lockout' switch which will shut down the unit based on the state of a dry contact switch...

So..... what I want to do is this, using electronics:

1. Monitor water consumption from each well, as well as the water being processed through the RO unit (assuming it won't always have to run), and final water use into the home. This can be done using the little 3/4 inch dia hall effect sensors which you can get on ebay - this one gives 330 pulses per liter: