Batteries question

adamg

I have 24 AXE023's all needing battery power.

Instead of rigging them all up to individual battery packs, I would like to use one battery pack if possible.

Two motors are rigged up to each board, so 48 motors. Only one motor will be used at any one time on each of the AXE023. So the possibility of 24 motors running at the same time.

Would this battery pack be suitable?

http://www.batteryspace.com/nimhbatterypack36v13ah3xfforev.aspx

Or would it fry everything? I am a total beginner - so don't really understand much about the amps etc. But here is what I figure:

1) each motor can draw up to 1/2 an amp- so I need around 12 amps

2) the battery pack seems to be 13 amps. Therefore it should be powerful enough.

3) Because the voltage is correct (3.6v) it won't catch on fire, because electronics only draw the amps they need? (Or am I very wrong?)

It has to be a fairly light battery and plugging it into anything else is not an option.

Thanks in advance for your help! :D

Buzby

Hi Adam,

You need a few more calculations before you choose the right battery.

How long does the device need to be powered for, is it hours or minutes ?.

Are there always 12 motors powered, or are there significant 'dead times' when no motor is powered ?

Understanding your power requirements in detail will stop you spending too much on bigger than needed battery, or not enough on a too small battery.

Cheers,

Buzby

rossko57

1) each motor can draw up to 1/2 an amp- so I need around 12 amps
That's a good assessment. Both of the packs so far will deal with that - this is the maximum "Discharge Rate".

The xxAh is the specs is a measure of capacity - the amount of water in the bucket. The battery can in theory provide XX Amps for 1 hour.
So for you, a 13Ah battery will last an hour or so with 12 motors working continuously. Or two hours if the _average_ current is 6.5A, with the motor circuits idle half the time.