Wind Direction Ouput

phil84

Hi All,
This is my first time posting on here as I am new to this. Currently I'm making a picaxe weather station that will display and transmit the usual weather data. All is going well so far, but I am stuck on how to read the data coming off the wind direction sensor, it is 8 reed switches that are connected to resistors. Here is a data sheet for it:-

https://www.argentdata.com/files/80422_datasheet.pdf

How would I go about displaying these 16 values e.g N E S W.

Any help would be much appreciated! :D

Phil

eclectic

Welcome to the Forum.

As a starter, please read Manual 2, page 171.

readadc10

There will be many more replies, I'm sure. :)

And, do you own any PICAXE kit?

e

phil84

Thanks for that,
I've brought the axe002 starter board and also built a 18m2 board for the weather station.
I've had a play around with that and manage to come up with this program, only problem is that its a bit long, would be grateful if anyone had any better ways of writing this code. :)
Thanks,
Phil

main:
readadc10 C.0,w1 ; read value into w1

if w1 > 201 and w1 < 300 then
sertxd ("N", cr, lf)

elseif w1 > 601 and w1 < 700 then
sertxd ("NNE", cr, lf)

elseif w1 > 501 and w1 < 600 then
sertxd ("NE", cr, lf)

elseif w1 > 936 and w1 < 950 then
sertxd ("ENE", cr, lf)

elseif w1 > 901 and w1 < 935 then
sertxd ("E", cr, lf)

elseif w1 > 951 and w1 < 999 then
sertxd ("ESE", cr, lf)

elseif w1 > 801 and w1 < 850 then
sertxd ("SE", cr, lf)

elseif w1 > 851 and w1 < 900 then
sertxd ("SSE", cr, lf)

elseif w1 > 701 and w1 < 750 then
sertxd ("S", cr, lf)

elseif w1 > 751 and w1 < 800 then
sertxd ("SSW", cr, lf)

elseif w1 > 351 and w1 < 400 then
sertxd ("SW", cr, lf)

elseif w1 > 401 and w1 < 500 then
sertxd ("WSW", cr, lf)

elseif w1 > 1 and w1 < 100 then
sertxd ("W", cr, lf)

elseif w1 > 151 and w1 < 200 then
sertxd ("WNW", cr, lf)

elseif w1 > 101 and w1 < 150 then
sertxd ("NW", cr, lf)

elseif w1 > 301 and w1 < 350 then
sertxd ("NNW", cr, lf)

else