Rev counter/tachometer pulse reduction (divide by 2)

samis_p

Hi. I'm trying to find the best way to quickly output one pulse after receiving two pulses with a 08m2.
I'm building a circuit for my car's tacho. 4 cylinder engine was replaced with an 8 cylinder engine and the tacho is reading double the RPM. The tacho signal is a square wave tied high, dropping low for each spark plug fire (measured it with a scope and it seems that the ''low'' part is the same width at any engine speed). Its a ~12V wave, so I'd probably need to use transistors or FETS both to receive the signal and to output it.
What do you people think would be the best way to tackle this (I'm quite new with this, so both hardware and software ideas are welcome)?

Dippy

Sorry to go 'non micro' but a flip-flop with buffering before and after is an easy way to divide by 2.

nick12ab

Its a ~12V wave, so I'd probably need to use transistors or FETS both to receive the signal and to output it.
Receive it - no. Output it - probably.

If the logic is powered with less than 12V, then to receive the signal, you can just use the normal PICAXE download circuit on a normal input pin. If the pulse is push-pull, then you only need the 22k resistor and you don't need the 10k pull-down.

However if you use Dippy's suggestion of using a flip-flop and you get one that supports 12V (e.g. 4000 series) then there's no need for input resistors or output transistors as you could power the flip-flop from the 12V car battery and then the flip flop could safely receive a 12V signal and it could output that voltage too (or slightly less).

boriz

"measured it with a scope and it seems that the ''low'' part is the same width at any engine speed"

What width?

samis_p

"measured it with a scope and it seems that the ''low'' part is the same width at any engine speed"

What width?