20M2 Mobile Robot

Jamster

That touch control is awesome, and looks quite simple. Nice.

Can you provide schematics and code to help others?

Jamster

erco

Thanks for your interest. Code & schematics are in progress, this bot will be in ROBOT magazine and there will be a web page of code & construction info. Buttoning it up now.

techElder

erco, do you see a situation where one task is PAUSED or delayed in some way and the other tasks get a lot more "attention" from the underlying multitasking?

erco

I'm sure that will be necessary at some point to prioritize the tasks. My interest in multitasking is primarily wheel watching; counting wheel encoder pulses for dead reckoning & navigation. I'm still learning which functions crash the system to a halt. Just last night I found that PLAY and even SOUND suspend all other functions. Disappointing! I'm finding that the silly little LED scanner is quite useful to provide visual feedback when the system is bogged down, you can see the LEDs stumbling.

I hope to get this robot doing lots of things: wall following, even maze running; line following, light seeking, beacon tracking, etc. I have a few neat tricks using IROUT planned. This old dog will do whatever's necessary to get the job done. If it takes pausing or suspending tasks, so be it! :)

erco

Last edited:

techElder

So, the only way to view the code you've used is to subscribe to ROBOT magazine? So far, all of your videos are just an advertising campaign for ROBOT magazine. Just sayin' ...

Usually the User Projects area is for showing off your code and skills.

erco

Since it's a series of magazine articles promoting PicAxe, it's only fair that ROBOT magazine (who commits to the series and saves space in each issue) gets "first dibs" on the material. I post here to get some feedback and gauge general interest in specifics to help steer where my articles go. All the code and most of the construction material ends up available for free on their website.