Picaxe , Load cells and Op amps

jkrehrer

Hello,
My name is Jim and I'm new to the pic axe(I have a 20M2). I got myself involved in a project for school using a Pic axe and am having some trouble understanding whats happening. My main goal is to make an auto bottle filling machine using two load cells. I have the load cells connected to a two stage op amp set up that is giving me around a 2 volt output w/o load...and goes up from there, but stays below 5v when at desired weight. Everything seems OK on the op amp side of things. The problem is when I put the Op amp output into the Pic. The extent of my program is to just Debug at this point to make sure the Pic is reading OK. When I do this the resolution displayed (and voltage read from Pic input) Is way higher then before I connected to pic...sometimes over 5v and maxes out the resolution at 255...and even when not maxed out to jumps around quite a bit...again I am new to this and somewhat new to electronics....one thought I was having was a problem with commons? But anyway I see it I am somehow getting voltage FROM somewhere when the pic is connected to op amp output. I guess what Im looking for is suggestion, or any insight anyone might have for this application. If I left out any inportant piece of info let me know and Ill try to answer.

Bill.b

Hi Jim

Could you provide a schematic (circuit) of then opamps and the connection to the 20m2 and the code you are using in the picaxe.
this would help us determine the problem and give you the correct advice.

Regards

Bill

Billo

Can you provide a schematic of how things are hooked up? A photo would be helpful too.

It does sound to me like a grounding issue.

jkrehrer