Data logging project

synertronik

Hi all,
I have a data logging project with picaxe slaves over rs485 network, and i have a data logging software installed on the host computer (master) that assigns a different serial port for each slave. I need a picaxe code that can select any virtual port via serial connection and will communicates with them. I will appreciate your help with this.

Best regards.

Sandy.

inglewoodpete

I am not an expert on the use of RS485 with PICAXE, although several members have used it. Before we get too far down the path, which model PICAXE are you planning to use? Since you plan to use RS485, this will require the use of serial comms and different models have different capabilities. Eg the X1 and X2 models support background serial reception, which allow a more flexible use of the microcontroller.

womai

The Picaxe itself does not know which serial port the PC assigns to its connection. That's a thing only the PC program needs to know. Can you explain a bit more what this code is supposed to do? Maybe I misunderstand what you are trying to do.

Paix

Normally I would expect multiple slaves to communicate with one master node occupying one serial port.

Each slave should transmit a node identifier in order that the data received by the master can be logged into a single log file, in the form IDENTIFIER <timestamp or serial number and data sample> (EndOfLineFunction).

Alternatively the identifier could be used to steer the received data sample to one of a number of log files through the use of output redirection on the PC.
= = =
I have a number of questions that I would like answered, if you will please Sandy.

1. Is the logging software self written or commercial/open source. If not self written can you please identify it, preferably with a link, so that we can have a look at it's functionality?

2. Are the slaves controlled by the PC master node and if not how do you plan on preventing more than one slave transmitting at the same time?