Axe 027 Not Recognised

Yessir

I have been using my Axe027 USB download cable for several years without difficulties. Just recently I have started experiencing intermittent problems when plugging the USB cable in to my computer. Sometimes it is recognised by Windows and runs perfectly, on other occasions I plug it in but Windows does not recognise it. Windows then tries to install a default driver and it appears in the Device Manager under the USB Controllers as an Unknown Device. If I right click on the unknown device and attempt to update the driver I get a message that Windows cannot find a driver more up to date than the one already installed.

I have now tried on serveral occasions to reinstall the Axe027 drivers, but the situation has not improved. The real difficulty is that the problem is intermittent sometimes the cable is recognised and on other occasions it is not.

I am running Windows XP SP3 on a Samsung NC10 netbook and I make sure that I use the same USB port each time.

To test the USB cable I have plugged it into another PC running Windows 7 and this works every time.

Any help would be appreciated.

hippy

Ex-Staff (retired)
It does sound like an odd fault that has appeared over time specific to that laptop; could the USB socket have got a bit wonky, worn or dusty and that's causing intermittent problems ? It might be worthwhile seeing if it works any better on another USB socket.

Though I'm generally adverse to suggesting it casually; a reinstall of Windows can help fix things, tidy up all the clutter which has crept in over the years which might be part of the problem.

Goeytex