​ ​ ​ ​ Error: hardware not found on Com Port
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread: Error: hardware not found on Com Port

Default Error: hardware not found on Com Port

Hello

I'm new to PICAXE. I keep getting error: hardware not found on Com port 9. I've purchased the AXE027 USB cable and using this with the 18M2 chip. I've downloaded and installed the update drivers and program editor. I've done this on two different machines, still get the error: hardware not found on Com Port (com5 on one pc and com9 on the other). I've tried uninstalling and re-installing the USB driver and Program Editor sereral times. I've used both battery power and a stabilized 5VDC supply. If you press F8 (i.e. PICAXE, Terminal on the menus) I get the Hello: I'm your PICAXE-18M2 message. I'm using the 22k & 10k resistors for the download circuit as per the manual, but the Hardware message is still there on both machines. Is this a AXE027 faulty cable? If you check the devices & printers menu on Win7, the drivers are present and installed USB drivers registered against the PICAXE027 device. Any ideas on why I'm getting the error: hardware not found on com 9 message?

Blog Entries

Circuit diagram?

Quote Originally Posted by nick12ab View Post
    Circuit diagram?
    hi Nick12ab

thanks for responding, the circuit diagram is as per the download circuit of the manual. I've not tried anything special yet, just trying the get the test procedure of the manual from PICAXE working. My USB cable AXE027 doesn't seem to be seen by the PICAXE program editor software, when you press the Program button on the software, it gives an error: hardware not found on com9. I believe it's a hardware issue? The USB drivers are installed and the Program Editor sees the USB cable on com9. But it just doesn't program. Any ideas?

What voltage are you using on the PicAxe?
    Many chips do not program easily with less than 4.5 volts.

Joel

Technical Support