beginner teacher

crimble

I am teaching an engineering diploma course and there is an electronics module. The standard electronics I am comfortable with but I have never used pics before.

i have downloaded lots of software. The advice I need is:

1. What type of chip should I start with?
2. What basic hardware pack for programming the chip do I need?
3. How many of these may be useful for a class of 15?

I am sure there are highly relevant questions I have not asked due to my complete ignorance so if you have the answers to these too I would obviously be extremely grateful.

Michael 2727

Hi and welcome to the forum.

I'd go with the 08M chip for starters, you can do quite a lot with it for a small 8 pin chip.
And the Schools Experimenter PCB AXE092 from memory, is a good starter board.
You also need a download cable RS232 and or the USB to RS232 converter if your PCs
only have USB ports.

Get to it you will have a lot of fun ~ ;o)

manuka

Crimble: Welcome-where are you in UK? Are you a beginner teacher or teacher of beginners? Your plea reminds a ~2002 quest that lead to my PICAXE discovery!. In spite of more recent PICAXE offerings (there are now ~17),I also highly recommend the 08M, as it's still "the little chip that could". Students LOVE THEM - your main problem may well be that they'll then not what to bother themselves with more tedious discrete, logic and "555" style approaches.

Naturally the boring sides of your need should first be addressed. These may well be delivery time, budgets, class materials,technical help, course assessments, theory/practical class nature, facilities, and student prior skill level & motivation. Your institution may feel PICAXEs are "too easy" & best suited for younger students as well,and issues may arise regarding using more professional micros. Any one of these aspects may influence just how you go about things,although (if you've time) perhaps check an approach I pondered ~2005..