Weather Balloon Project 20X2

mcwoe

Hi,

This is my first time on here and thought I’d post a link to my latest ‘Weather Balloon Project’. The main electronics are for tracking the payload ‘capsule’ and operating the camera (servo, focus and shutter). This was achieved using a Picaxe 20x2 for the tracking side of things and a 18X for the camera control. The 20X2 basically takes the GPS date and converts it to ‘RTTY’ which is then transmitted back to a scanner on the ground which in turn sends the data to a PC so it can be read off. Because of the simple format of ‘RTTY’ its possible to transmit data well over 50 miles with only a 10mW transmitter, yes sounds crazy but it works. I did try using a standard ‘Pic’ to start with but found the ‘Picaxe’ so much easier to work with and a lot simpler to use.

Have a look at the pictures..

http://www.flickr.com/photos/52455043@N03/

Michael

eclectic

Michael.

Welcome to the Forum,
and what an excellent project as an introduction.
The aerial photographs are stunning!

Could you please provide some more
information about
a. The circuits, and
b. The programs.

The GPS/RTTY conversion sounds
extremely interesting and useful. :)

50 miles! Coo!

Ec

hippy

Ex-Staff (retired)
Well done and and what a way to introduce yourself to the forum! Those high altitude shots are amazing. The shots on the way down are really good as well - maybe get a few more of those next time as well as the 'fluffy white stuff' :)

Dippy

Superb Michael. Well done.

I reckon you'll be able to give sound advice to others who have been trying to do a similar thing.
A lot of these aspects have cropped up and I'm sure your successful experience will be hugely valued by others who've experienced problems.

Lovely job.

mcwoe

Thanks for your comments

Thanks for your comments, glad you liked the pictures I was more than pleased with them, I managed to capture 2700 in all, not an easy job sorting them out as 90 % of them came out well.