PICAXE to measure a 12v Battery

Husos

Dear All,

I have checked the forums (searching using "12v Battery measure") and didnt come up with what I want.

AIM:

I want to use a picaxe to measure the voltage in a 12v battery and then have LEDS to indicate charge status (not sure how I will split the ratio). By charge status I do not mean when its charging but rather what the current charge is like (i.e. 100%, 80%, 60%, 50%). I might even use a seven segment display (3 of them to show voltage 12.6, 12.4 11 etc)

[a] is this possible
where would i find resources to help me with this one
[c] has anyone done this before

Husos

Husos

further explanation

Thanks for the response it has helped a bit in my search.

I have a 12V battery that I am attaching to a 12V switch and then to my picaxe project, I have already built the Regulator to drop it to 5v using a 7605 to power the picaxe circuit.

from what I understand having read (bear in mind I am an absolute beginner at both picaxe and electronics) the forum is that I take another feed of the 12v battery positive connect this to a 10k and 4.7k (in series) and then connect this to the adc? and then have the 12v Neg also attached to the picaxe negative.

Beanie Bot at the time posted this:
Battery 0v to PICAXE 0v.
Battery positive to one end of 10k.
Other end of 10k to 4k7
Other end of 4k7 to 0v.
Join of 10k & 4k7 to ADC input pin of your choice.

not sure I understand the last two lines. Once some clarifies I will try to create a sechamtic and post here to make sure its right.

12v + -> 10K resistor -> 4k7 Resistor -> ADC0 on picaxe 18x

Husos

Last edited:

Chavaquiah

Another keyword you can use for searching is "monitor." Along with "battery" this will give you a few more threads.

As for the voltage divider, think of it as a T shaped:

Code:
12 V  ----  10k  ----- 4k7 ---- 0V
                   |
                   |
                  ADC