random LED generator

rach

I'm relatively new to the whole picaxe programming and I'm in desperate need of some expert help!
I need a programme that will randomly select one of eight LED's everytime a switch is pressed. I'm using a PICAXE 18X.
I've read through the manuals and also the dice projects but I only want one of the 8 LEDS to light each time.
I would be so grateful of any help/sugggestions!! If anyone needs any more details on my circuit or anything ask away =]

eclectic

I'm relatively new to the whole picaxe programming and I'm in desperate need of some expert help!
I need a programme that will randomly select one of eight LED's everytime a switch is pressed. I'm using a PICAXE 18X.
I've read through the manuals and also the dice projects but I only want one of the 8 LEDS to light each time.
I would be so grateful of any help/sugggestions!! If anyone needs any more details on my circuit or anything ask away =]
Welcome to the Forum.

There's loads of info available on this site.

For example,
http://www.picaxeforum.co.uk/showthread.php?t=7799

is a great “random” starter.

Here's a really simple program which might help.
If Pin 1 is high, then it lights the output for one second.

Try it in the simulator first.

Code:
#picaxe 18x

main:
if pin1 = 1 then

RANDOM w0
 w1 = w0 // 8 + 1

high w1
 pause 1000
 low w1
 goto main
endif 

goto main
Can you explain more about your
project requirements please?

e

rach

thank you :)

ok its a gcse electronics project, I have done all of the casing, circuit etc but my teacher is away sick so I havn't been able to programme my chip yet. My time is running out and also this problem means the development pages of my project are at a standstill.
Each of the eight LED's represents a player (my project is game) so I want a random player to be chosen each time the switch is pressed.
Is that any more help?

eclectic