PWM problem

Vmax

I’m a newbie with this stuff and I need help. I’m trying to use a Picaxe 28X1 to drive a PWM switch. I’m using a small 12VDC fan as test load. I made this circuit on a solderless board (attached 1).

The Picaxe drives an opto (4N35), which drives an IFR540 from a regulated +5V supply. This circuit works perfectly and fan speed varies with duty cycle. (I know there should be a back emf diode from Fan- and Bat-, but I'm only using the Fan as test load and don’t expect much back emf in the final setup).

When I try to graduate from the solderless board to one where 4 MOSFETs are soldered in parallel as a separate PWM switch (attached 2) I can only get the Fan to be either OFF or fully ON. Fan speed no longer varies with duty and I can’t figure out why.

P.S. Forgive my crappy circuit diagrams. I’m also a newbie at CAD.

Attachments

premelec

Not entirely sure of what's up but in your second diagrams 10K is now 100K I think... note that power MOSFETs have high gate capacitance which affects turn on and turn off with the RC time constant - perhaps that's a problem - look at the MOSFET data sheet to get gate capacitance and see what your RC time constants are...

BeanieBots

You really should fit the diode to catch back emf. Not only do you not expect much, nor does the poor old FET which will expire if it does get some!

The circuit diagram as drawn is almost impossible to follow but looks OK.
Always try to draw a diagram with power from top to bottom and signal from left to right. Keeping to that rule is just like writing from left to right with correct grammer. Much easier to understand.

The fact that you can turn the fan on and off, suggests that the power part of your circuit is OK.
When you say "either OFF or fully ON", does it do nothing until a certain PWM value is reached? If yes, what value?
Can you control the fan on/off correctly with high/low commands?
Double check your download circuit and reset connections.

added
Well spotted premelec.