Running a Picaxe 18m2 off 230v

Steve2381

Hi all.

New project being designed here, and a small size is essential.
My question is that of powering a 5v or 12v circuit from the mains, without a transformer (my usual method). This is something I have never done before.
The project is basically a relay switch with certain advanced functions, but it will need to be supplied with simply 230v - no batteries. How do they achieve quality low voltage supplies in small commercial 230v equipment e.g smoke detectors, PIR sensors etc
I know playing with 230v is a whole new world.... but I am an electrician so I know what I am tinkering with.

premelec

You don't get isolation but capacitors can provide impedance to limit current into a bridge/zener...many caveats... particularly what if the capacitor shorts? Note that any spikes on the mains line see the capacitor as a much smaller impedance and thus pass high current pulses... at the very least put a resistance in series with the capacitor [flameproof one :)]. With all the isolated switching 80-240v plug in units which are built to standards available you'd need pretty strong reasons to NOT use one... I repaired a Chinese multiple LED light recently which had only a capacitor V drop system... they didn't even put in a series resistor. You could hack a commercial unit to feed a few ma to PICAXE - still a very dicey proposition good luck [BTW there are circuits on the Internet that show these structures - if it's not isolated it's not safe... ].

Dippy

Read Microchip App Note AN954 for ideas.
Read it thoroughly, no skimping, as this could end in tears.
There are other varieties but that should get you started.
As you are an electrician I don't need to stress the hazards.
Just be aware that some of the audience here aren't electricians and might try it.
This sort of stuff is NOT for novices.

There are switcher alternatives which are more efficient but require more components.