Can't get Linaxepad to install on Open Suse 12.3 (64 bit)

SteveT

I'm new to Linux and trying to get away from Microsoft dominance.

I'm unable to get Linaxepad to install on my system running Open Suse 12.3 64 bit. I've extracted the files from the archive to /Home/LinAXEpad, done the bit where you have to change permissions for all the files in the /Home/LinAXEpad/compiler_linux directory but am unable to progress any further. When I click on the LinAXEpad 'gear wheel' it does nothing even though it's properties say it is executable.

I am rereading (for about the fourth time) the install instructions in pad.pdf and noticed this bit....

Requirements
Please note that LinAXEpad requires an INtel x86-based Linux distribution with GTK+ 2.8 or higher,
glibc-2.4, CUPS (Common UNIX Printing System) and libstdc++.so.6 installed.

I don't know what libstdc++.so.6 is. How can I tell if it's installed?

Help!

If someone can tell me what details you need to help just let me know.

Cheers, Steve

NB I've got AXE027 installed ok (I think)

SteveT

Just tried the chmod bit of 'installing linaxepad from a command shell'

linux-1l74:/home/steve # cd /home/steve/LinAXEpad
linux-1l74:/home/steve/LinAXEpad # chmod 755 LinAXEpad
linux-1l74:/home/steve/LinAXEpad # LinAXEpad
If 'LinAXEpad' is not a typo you can use command-not-found to lookup the package that contains it, like this:
cnf LinAXEpad
linux-1l74:/home/steve/LinAXEpad #

Paix

@SteveT, libstdc++, go into Yast2 and select software management. on the screen top left for the package name, type libstdc++ and either hit return or click the search box. You should get a list of the installed and available libstdc++ packages in the right hand pane.

I am using SUSE Linux 12.2 but don't currently have LINUXPAD installed, so my assistance is likely limited to the above.
My system currently shows libstdc++47 as installed.

SteveT

Hi Paix, just tried that and I get a few more...

libstdc++6
libstdc++6-32bit
libstdc++-devel