Yaesu's serial protocol.

iz3kxw

Good afternoon,
i introduce myself, my name is Andrea and i’m writing from Italy. I’m a newbie with the Picaxe and I need some information regarding my project.
By a Picaxe 08M2 i have to control a Yaesu FT847 rigs with own serial protocol. Each instruction to send the radio consist of 5 bytes, the pause between each byte must be 200mS, the format of the single byte is:

- start bit - bit0 – bit1 – bit2 – bit3 – bit4 – bit5 – bit6 – bit7 – stop bit – stop bit – Total are 11 bits

As you see this protocol is different from the protocol of Picaxe that is - 8bit data – no parity – stop bit –

My question is: how can I write the right code in order to meet the requirements Yaesu’s protocol ??
I apologize if the topic has already been treated, but have not found anything like.

Thank you for the help.
Andrea P. IZ3KXW.

nick12ab

Welcome to the PICAXE Forum.

Isn't a stop bit really just the same as idle? The code execution delay introduced by the PICAXE interpreter will be enough to lengthen the stop bit for you. All you need to do is use a separate serout command for each byte and you can use the pause command for the 200ms delay. If a microsecond delay is required, use the pauseus command.

Example:
Code:
    serout 0,N2400,(b1)
    pause 200
    serout 0,N2400,(b2)
    pause 200
    serout 0,N2400,(b3)
    pause 200
    serout 0,N2400,(b4)
    pause 200
    serout 0,N2400,(b5)

iz3kxw

Thank you for the quick response,
is much simpler than i thougt, tonight i try to write down the code and test it with the radio.
Ciao. Andrea P.

hippy

Technical Support
Staff member
Another technique is to use the scratchpad ('ptr') or the RAM ('bptr'), build up the data to send, and then send it ...

Code:
  ptr = 0
  @ptrInc = "H"
  @ptrInc = "e"
  @ptrInc = "l"
  @ptrInc = "l"
  @ptrInc = "o"
  Gosub Send
  End

Send:
  b0 = ptr
  ptr = 0
  Do While ptr <> b0
    SerOut .... ( @ptrInc )
    Pause 200
  Loop
  Return

Goeytex