basic Help needed with PICAXE and HopeRF

avner

Hello,

i just got one transmitter RFM02 and one receiver RFM01 from HopeRF.

they have more pins than 'dumb' RF modules (which have +v, GND, DATA),
but as a beginning i'd like to interface them at the minimal possible.

i mean, just send and receive, no feedback if sent, no sleep mode, no config of band/rate etc....

could you please give me a hint for the program on PICAXE ?
i'm currently not using X2 which enable SPI,
so let's say im using a 08M for this demo purpose.

so i kinda know the loop used to send 8 bit SPI data and CLK,
but what do i need to send ? what byte should i send so it start transmitting etc.. ?

thanks a lot for your help,
i'm really new to it and i read a lot, but i get quite confused...

manuka

I've not used that HopeRF pair, but certainly feel they may be a tad over the top for someone new to the wireless field. If PICAXE driven their high data rates will be wasted as well. How about parking them for a while & grabbing some cheapies for an entre?

avner

im not too in advance on my project and getting other RF module would take time.....

the question is:
is sending the bits by SPI (clk, dta) from the picaxe to module enough to get the module transmit ?

or does it REQUIRE more complex program to work (feedbacks, etc...) ?

manuka

It may take MUCH longer to tame them! I can NOT say anything much about their setup unless I've used them.

Where are you ? Just what is your project ? Which PICAXE ? What ranges are needed? Simplex or half duplex ? Budget ? Skills? Resources? Time frame?

hippy

Ex-Staff (retired)
The RFM02 refers to "RF02 commands" which seems to be here -

http://www.hoperf.com/upfile/RF02_code.pdf

Unfortunately my current PDF reader won't display that file so I have no idea what it contains.