USB cable - Driver download

lazer123

Hello, I downloaded the driver for the USB cable to 2 different computers, but windows tells me it does not see the driver. Can you tell me a solution? Can you send to me the CD for the cable?

Thank you.

hippy

Technical Support
Staff member
Welcome to the PICAXE Forum.

Which USB cable are we talking about - AXE027 or USB010, and for which Windows OS ?

Did you extract the drivers from the .ZIP file and follow the instructions ?

lazer123

Hello, it is the cable for the Picaxe-08m servo driver kit. I think I downloaded the AXE027 file. This is my first time working on this project.

I am using Windows Vista. I have instructions but I don't understand some of the instructions. I extracted the files but I did not see anymore instructions after I extracted the files. After I extracted the files, I inserted the cable but Windows tells me it does not see the files. I don't know if I extracted the drivers from the zip files. I extracted the drivers from my document files.

The following are the instructions I am trying to follow:

AXE027 PICAXE USB CABLE

Index:
1.0) Introduction
2.0) General tips for using the AXE027 USB cable
3.0) Windows Installation
4.0) Linux Installation
5.0) Mac OS X Installation
6.0) Windows CE/PocketPC/Mobile Installation
7.0) PICAXE Download Circuit
8.0) AXE027 Circuit Diagram

Thank you.

hippy

Technical Support
Staff member
I don't have a copy of Vista to hand so these instructions may not be exact, but should be the basic principles to follow ...

First, download the "AXE027 USB Driver for XP / 2000 / 2003 / Vista".

Use Explorer to locate the downloaded .ZIP file, click on it and you should get a list of files including "FTD2XX.DLL". Click on File -> Extract All and extract the files to somewhere on disk.

Then, obtain the "Windows Vista Installation Guide" from http://www.ftdichip.com/Documents/InstallGuides.htm.